nl fr

Brussels Minister

  • Our Brussels Region gives opportunities to children; it gives parents and children the possibility to take on their responsibilities. Our Brussels Region supports them to break away from poverty.

    More...
  • Well-designed public spaces contribute to a more livable city. Squares and parks should oxygenate Brussels.

    More...
  • The city is a laboratory, a breeding ground for the future. Brussels needs to foster creativity and experimentation, providing spaces to play, practise sports and learn new skills.

    More...
  • Brussels is to be enjoyed by tram, on foot, by bike, ... while meeting other people. This calls for public transport and spatial planning that strike a balance between meeting others and just passing by.

    More...

Pascal

 

2014

In 2014, Pascal Smet once again chooses for Brussels, with all his heart. During the elections campaign he raises the seeds of a new city movement: 100 % Brussels. After the May 2014 elections, he keeps his word and returns to the Brussels Government. 'My heart beats to the rhythm of this city,' he says. 'The very reason of my coming to the Brussels political scene, is the city of Brussels itself.' As the Minister for Mobility and Public Works he can make his dream come true: to foster a sustainable urban development. This implies a new way of designing public space. A bigger emphasis on public transport, more space for cyclists and pedestrians. 'In 2004 I had to act like a bulldozer to make way for innovative ideas and to set things into motion. Today, the cranes can come, construction works can start. In 2003 some people nearly booed at my suggestions to turn the central boulevards into a car free zone. Look at where we stand today!'

'Le courage est d’aller à l’idéal et de comprendre le réel.' Pascal Smet quotes Jean Jaurès. After five years as the Minister for Education in Flanders, Pascal Smet wholeheartedly returns to Brussels. More experienced than ever, and equipped with additional know-how, he returns to Brussels to make it a better, more inviting city.

2009

The June 2009 elections are a success for Pascal Smet and sp.a Brussels, yet they find themselves being excluded from the majority coalition in the Brussels Capital Region. As a result, sp.a Brussels joins the opposition and Pascal Smet moves over to the Flemish government to become the Minister for Education, Youth, Equal Opportunities and Brussels. With those powers, he holds the keys to the «ministry of the future».

'Without a plumber and an electrician, the lawyer will stand pleading in the dark, his feet wet. This touches the very heart of education. One person is better working with his hands, the other is quick-witted, a third one is gifted in languages while the fourth person has a natural ability for technical stuff. Our educational system should allow parents, and their children in particular, to make the right choices.'

2003

In September 2003, Pascal Smet re-enters the political scene. The sp.a president at the time, Steve Stevaert, appoints Pascal as the new Brussels sp.a Secretary of State for Mobility. His arrival in Brussels politics does not remain unnoticed. Pascal feels Brussels should be more ambitious, less complex and a lot greener. Also, he favours more space for pedestrians, cyclists and public transport. Brussels proves to be a rich source of inspiration, tickling the creative nerve of this “neuve Brusseleir” (newcomer).

'Typically, Brussels politicians attribute failure to the fact that Brussels is a complicated city. But why would anyone engage into politics, if it wasn’t for the joy of changing things for the better? For people open to change, Brussels is the land of opportunities.'

Following the June 2004 elections, Pascal Smet becomes the Minister of Mobility and Public Works in the Brussels government. Those powers shall make the difference: he goes beyond dreams, proving his ideas to be feasible. Public works need long term planning and a broad vision. Within a Brussels area that becomes more car free, the space bicycle becomes more visible. And of course Pascal intends to develop attractive public transport services, moving fast on separate bus lanes and tram tracks, gradually made free of charge to certain target groups.

'I like to walk and pedal in my city. The city skyline is characterised by hoisting cranes. As long as I spot those cranes, there is room for improvement in Brussels. Brussels needs more dreams.'

In 2006, Pascal Smet is elected municipal councillor for the City of Brussels and he becomes the (detained) alderman for public works, participation and equal opportunities. This marks the onset of three years of close cooperation between the City of Brussels and the Brussels Capital Region, resulting in many successes such as a major pedestrian zone around the Grand Place, the Oude Graanmarkt being made car free, a remarkable plaza in front of the Bronks youth theatre and the renovation of several streets, boulevards and public squares.

1995

In the early 1990’s, Pascal Smet leaves East Flanders and moves to Brussels. He chooses to live near his working place: at that time he is a civil servant at the Office of the Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons. In 2000 he becomes the Commissioner General for Refugees. Soon it is clear that he has to tackle the biggest refugee crisis in the country. He addresses the issue successfully, the number of asylum applications dropping from 42.000 to below 20.000 per year. From now on, asylum applications are being treated correctly and the Belgian asylum policy sets the example for good practice in Europe.

1985

Aged 18, Pascal Smet engages in the political movement. He participates in the anti-missile marches for the first time. He fiercely opposes to the US missiles on European territory, as does the Socialist Party led by its charismatic president Karel van Miert. The step into active politics comes very naturally and Pascal joins the local team of the socialist party, in Haasdonk. Soon Pascal Smet is elected both as a municipal councillor in Beveren and as a provincial councillor for East Flanders. He is only in his twenties at that time. During that period, he is also president of the young socialists.

'As the president of the young socialists I made a strong plea to abolish the military service obligation. I felt it unfair that a son born from rich parents stood a better chance for escaping from military duty. I learned from this experience that sometimes good ideas come too early in life to prosper rightaway.'

1967

Pascal Smet, born July 30th 1967, Haasdonk (a Waasland rural village). The eldest of three sons, he grows up in a working-class family. Secondary school allows for his first steps outside Haasdonk. After studying at the Broederschool in Sint-Niklaas he takes up law studies at the University of Antwerp.

'After primary school in Haasdonk, I was the only pupil in my class to go to the Broederschool in Sint-Niklaas. The transition to secondary school in itself is often problematic, if only because suddenly you face several teachers instead of one permanent teacher. From the warm familiar nest of primary school, I found myself thrown into a completely different world, with no friends. In the beginning I had a hard time.'

nl en

Ministre Bruxellois

  • Notre Bruxelles donne des chances aux enfants, donne aux parents et aux enfants des possibilités de prendre leurs responsabilités. Notre Bruxelles les soutiendra pour briser la précarité intergénérationnelle.

    Plus...
  • La qualité de l'espace public détermine la viabilité d'une ville. Bruxelles doit être la capitale des places et des parcs.

    Plus...
  • Bruxelles se vit en en tram, à pied, à vélo. En trouvant l'équilibre entre rencontre et passage dans l'aménagement du territoire et l'organisation des transports nous crééons du lien à Bruxelles.

    Plus...
  • La ville est le laboratoire où se construit l'avenir. Bruxelles doit donc prévoir suffisamment de place pour la créativité et l'expérimentation, pour jouer, faire du sport et apprendre.

    Plus...

Pascal

 

2014

En 2014, Pascal Smet choisit de se dévouer à nouveau entièrement à Bruxelles. Lors de la campagne électorale, il posa les jalons d'un nouveau mouvement urbain qui est à 100% consacré à Bruxelles. Après les élections, il concrétisa son engagement et devint à nouveau ministre au sein du gouvernement bruxellois. 'Mon cœur bat dans cette ville', dit-il. 'La raison pour laquelle je me suis engagé dans la politique bruxelloise est Bruxelles elle-même.' En tant que ministre de la Mobilité et des Travaux Publics, il peut à nouveau donner pleinement vie à son rêve de développement urbain durable. Ceci implique notamment une autre répartition de l'espace public. Celui-ci devra en effet octroyer plus de place à des transports en commun plus efficaces, et plus de place aux cyclistes et piétons. 'En 2004, j'ai dû me transformer en bulldozer pour pouvoir initier des changements. Aujourd'hui nous pouvons accueillir les grues, qui nous permettront de construire de nouveaux édifices. Lorsqu'en 2003 je parlais d'allées centrales piétonnisées, on me riait presque au nez. Regardez où nous nous trouvons aujoud'hui.'

'Le courage est d’aller à l’idéal et de comprendre le réel.' Pascal Smet évoque une citationdeJean Jaurès. Après cinq ans en tant queministre flamand de l'Enseignement, Pascal Smet nourrit tout sauf des regrets de retourner à Bruxelles. Mais il revient enrichi de nouvelles expériences et d'un bagage supplémentaire, afin de faire de Bruxelles une ville plus belle et plus agréable.

2009

Les élections de juin 2009 sont un succès pour Pascal Smet et le sp.a bruxellois mais ceux-ci sont malgré tout exclus de la coalition majoritaire au sein de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Ainsi, le sp.a bruxellois atterrit dans l'opposition et Pascal Smet devient ministre de l'Enseignement, de la Jeunesse, de l'Egalité des chances et des Affaires bruxelloises au sein du Gouvernement flamand. Ces compétences vont en réalité faire de lui le ministre de l'avenir.

'Sans plombier et électricien l'avocat se retrouve les pieds dans l'eau dans l'obscurité. C'est aussi de ça dont il est question dans l'enseignement. L'un est plus habile de ses mains, l'autre a de plus grandes capacités de réflexion, un troisième est doué en langues, un quatrième a l'esprit technique. Le système scolaire doit permettre aux parents et surtout aux enfants de faire le bon choix.'

2003

En septembre 2003 Pascal Smet s'engage à nouveau activement dans la politique. L'ancien président sp.a Steve Stevaert désigne Pascal comme nouveau secrétaire d’État bruxellois sp.a à la Mobilité. Son entrée dans la politique bruxelloise ne passe pas inaperçue. Pour Pascal, Bruxelles devrait être beaucoup plus ambitieuse: ce qui veut dire beaucoup moins compliquée et beaucoup plus verte avec plus de places pour les piétons, les cyclistes et les transports en commun. Bruxelles semble être une source d'inspiration inépuisable pour ce ‘neuve Brusseleir’.

'La configuration de Bruxelles est fort complexe et les politiciens bruxellois la considèrent souvent comme un projet qui a échoué. Néanmoins, on s'engage dans la politique pour changer les choses. Et Bruxelles offre de nombreuses opportunités à ce niveau-là.'

Suite aux élections de juin 2004, Pascal Smet devient ministre de la Mobilité et des Travaux publics au sein du gouvernement bruxellois. Grâce à ces compétences, il fait la différence et il prouve que ses idées sont réalisables. Les travaux publics doivent être réellement planifiés et s'inscrire dans une vision urbaine au sens large. Bruxelles doit comporter plus de zones piétonnes et accorder une place visible au vélo. Et bien sûr Pascal souhaite aussi concrétiser le projet de mise en place de transports en commun rapides et attrayants, en site propre et partiellement gratuits pour certains groupes-cibles.

'J'aime me promener et rouler à vélo dans ma ville. Une ville qui est toujours caractérisée par les grues Et tant que je verrai des grues, Bruxelles pourra toujours s'améliorer. Il faut rêver davantage à Bruxelles.'

En 2006, Pascal Smet a été élu membre du conseil communal de la ville de Bruxelles et devient échevin (empêché) des travaux publics, de la participation et de l'égalité des chances. Ceci a permis pendant trois ans de mettre en place une collaboration forte et fructueuse entre la ville de Bruxelles et la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale avec comme résultat une grande zone piétonnière autour de la Grand-Place, une rue du Vieux Marché au Grain interdite aux voitures, une véritable place pour le théâtre de la jeunesse Bronks et encore toute une série de rues, avenues et places rénovées.

1995

Début des années nonante Pascal Smet quitte la Flandre orientale pour déménager à Bruxelles. Il travaille au commissariat-général pour les réfugiés à Bruxelles et choisit d'habiter dans la ville où il travaille. En 2000, il devient Commissaire-Général pour les réfugiés et très vite il apparaît clairement qu'il devra gérer la plus grande crise de réfugiés que notre pays ait connue. Il y parvient et le nombre de demandes d'asile passe de 42.000 à moins de 20.000 annuellement. Les demandes d'asile doivent à présent être traitées correctement et la Belgique devient l'exemple à suivre en Europe en ce qui concerne la politique en matière d'asile.

1985

A ses dix-huit ans, Pascal Smet devient mordu par le virus de la politique. Cette année-là, nous sommes en pleine crise des missiles et il va manifester pour la première fois. Il est fermement opposé à l'installation de missiles américains en Europe, tout comme les socialistes avec en tête le charismatique président du SP Karel Van Miert. Pour Pascal, ceci n'est qu'un petit pas vers la politique active et vers la section SP de Haasdonk. Il ne faudra pas longtemps avant que Pascal Smet soit élu, en tant que membre du conseil communal SP à Beveren et en tant que membre du conseil provincial en Flandre orientale. A l'époque, il est encore dans la vingtaine. Pendant cette période, il devient aussi président des jeunes socialistes.

'En tant que président des jeunes socialistes, j'ai lancé autrefois l'idée de supprimer le service militaire. Je trouvais injuste que quand on avait des parents riches,on avait plus de chances d'y échapper. J'ai appris à l'époque que parfois les bonnes idées peuvent arriver trop tôt.'

1967

Pascal Smet est né le 30 juillet 1967 à Haasdonk, un village rural dans le Waasland. C'est là qu'il grandit dans une famille d'ouvriers en tant qu'aîné de trois garçons. Grâce à l'enseignement secondaire, Pascal effectue ses premiers pas en dehors de Haasdonk. Il va à l'école chez les Frères à Saint-Nicolas et étudie ensuite le droit à l'Université d'Anvers.

'Je suis originaire de Haasdonk dans le Waasland et après l'école primaire je suis le seul à avoir été chez les Frères à Saint-Nicolas.La transition vers l'école secondaire est de toute façon souvent problématique, ne fût-ce que parce qu'on se retrouve tout d'un coup avec plusieurs professeurs, par rapport à l'école primaire où l'on a un instituteur titulaire. Depuis ma petite école de village, je me suis retrouvé catapulté dans un tout autre monde sans amis. Au début, je ne m'y plaisais pas du tout.'